Car accidents remain the most common type of auto accident. If motorists simply obeyed the rules and regulations of the road, they could have averted the majority of these accidents. If you or someone you know have sustained injuries in a car accident through no fault of your own, you may have a valid personal injury claim. But can you sue if an uninsured motorist has hit you in New Jersey? For more information on that very subject, please continue reading, then contact one of our experienced New Jersey car accident lawyers today.
Can you sue an uninsured motorist for a car accident in New Jersey?
A person will generally pursue a claim against the negligent party’s insurance company when they have sustained injuries due to the negligence of another motorist. Even so, you may be confused and unsure of how to proceed if you are injured in an accident with someone who does not have insurance. Thankfully, you should be covered if you have insurance. The Garden State mandates that all motorists must purchase UM Insurance, or Uninsured Motorist Insurance, with the following limited coverage amounts:
- $15,000 for injuries incurred by a single person in a car accident
- $30,000 for injuries sustained by everyone involved in the accident, and
- $5,000 for any property that was damaged in the accident
In addition, our firm is here to assist you if this coverage does not cover the entire cost of your injuries. One of our skilled New Jersey personal injury lawyers can file a claim against your insurance company and pursue the full compensation you deserve.
What can a New Jersey car accident lawyer do to help you?
An experienced Essex County car accident lawyer can gather and present all additional evidence needed to satisfy the burden of proof on your behalf. In many instances, our firm can subpoena security camera footage of the accident as it happened, which is one of the best ways to win a personal injury claim.
How long do you have to bring forward a personal injury claim against an uninsured motorist in New Jersey?
Every state has a statute of limitations in place to regulate the amount of time an individual can wait after an accident to sue the party responsible. The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in New Jersey is, under most circumstances, two years, which means that you will, generally, have two years from the date of your accident to sue the liable motorist. Do not wait past the two-year mark, for if you do, you may permanently lose your right to sue. So, please do not hesitate to give our firm a call today.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
If you or someone you know has sustained an injury, contact Rubenstein, Berliner & Shinrod, LLC today.